Coconut Pancakes

Alright, alright! Apparently (according to my mother!) several people have been waiting for this recipe!

Here it is… healthy pancakes!

First off, the credit goes to Shannon of Nourishing Days. 

Her recipe is great, and I just added a few changes to make it my own. 🙂

It’s really quite a simple recipe that creates something delishhh. 🙂 It alllll started last week when I was craving pancakes. I just COULD NOT do that to myself, but it was so hard to resist. So I determined within myself to find something else. Something healthier, maybe? That’s when I hopped on Pinterest and stumbled upon Shannon’s recipe. My life has been forever changed. *dun* *dun* *duuuunnnn*

You can top these bad boys with any topping you want! I LOVE them with honey and fruit. My mom likes Greek yogurt on top. 🙂

Prep time: 20 minutes     |      Cook time: 20 minutes

Serves: 3      |      Calories per pancake: 60

Special diet notes: This recipe is gluten and dairy free! It’s also low-carb. 🙂

Ingredients:

  1. 1/2 cup coconut flour
  2. 1 cup almond milk (You can use regular milk, or coconut milk. I liked using almond. 🙂 )
  3. 4 eggs at room temperature
  4. 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  5. 1 tablespoon Xyla sweetner
  6. 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  7. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  8. 1 teaspoon baking soda

 

Steps:

  1. Beat the eggs till nice and frothaaay.
  2. Add the vanilla, almond milk, and sweetner
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon
  4. Next add the liquid mixture to the dry mixture and stir until well combined
  5. Heat a skillet with butter or coconut oil to medium heat
  6. Add scoops of the batter… keep them small, no bigger than 4 inches in diameter because they will be thick.
  7. Now you just have to wait till they can be flipped. This part is a little trial and error cause they don’t look like regular pancakes. It is usually about 3-4 minutes.
  8. Top with whatever your heart desires and ENJOY your guilt-free pancakes! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Coconut Pancakes

  1. I just bought coconut flour at Kroger’s – Bob’s Red Mill brand – 1 lb $9.50 They have almond flout too, it was $11 for a pound. Just learning to use it, thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a comment